Our Region

The Yarra Yarra Catchment Management Group

The Yarra Yarra Catchment Management Group (YYCMG) is a community-based, working group concerned with natural resources in the region.

Yarra Yarra

The Yarra Yarra is one of four sub-regions in the Northern Agricultural Region (NAR).
The other regions are Greenough, Moore River, and West Midlands, shown in the accompanying map.
Landcare activities in the NAR are coordinated by the Northern Agricultural Catchments Council (NACC).


The main office of the YYCMG is in Perenjori, with a branch office in Kalannie.
We are interested in issues relating to natural resource management, such as rehabilitating drainage lines, revegetation, saltland pastures, and sustainable agricultural practices.


The YYCMG developed a strategy and action plan in March 1997.
The purpose of this strategy was to determine actions that would provide a sustainable future for our lifestyle, economic viability and natural environment.
The strategy is applied on a holistic basis, constantly involving all the community in the process of communications, decision making, planning and implimentation. 
The YYCMG have been working towards the goals and targets set in the strategy since 1997.


Note that the boundaries of the NACC subregion do not coincide exactly with those of Yarra Yarra catchment.
The southern and south-eastern margins follow the Dalwallinu Shire boundary, and the Dalwallinu townsite, considered part of the Avon catchemnt, is included in the Yarra Yarra NRM subregion.
The Burakin district, south of Kalannie is hydrologically attached to the Yarra Yarra catchment, but is excluded from the NACC administered region.
These anomolies can cause jurisdictional disputes.

Please contact the Community Landcare Coordinator at the Perenjori office if you would like to view a copy of the original strategy.